



# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Monday July 25, 2016

#### Contact: Jeff Gombar Phone: 604-421-9755 Ext. 3

### **SUBWAY® BCLA 2016 Box Lacrosse Provincial Champions Crowned**

The SUBWAY® British Columbia Lacrosse Association (BCLA) Box Lacrosse Provincial Championships for the Pee Wee division took place July 21-24, 2016 in Richmond. Twenty-eight Pee Wee teams from around BC competed for box lacrosse supremacy in the A1, A2, B and C divisions.

#### PEE WEE BOX LACROSSE PROVINCIALS-

The Ridge Meadows Burrards handed the Nanaimo Timberman a 6-4 loss in the Pee Wee A1 gold medal match; the A2 title went to the Surrey Rebels after a 5-4 victory over the Saanich Tigers. The Chilliwack Mustangs out-paced Abbotsford Warriors 9-7 for the Pee Wee B gold and in the Pee Wee C final, the Comox Valley Wild outlasted the Burnaby Lakers 3-0 for the C gold medal.

Bronze medal game scores were: Pee Wee A1 – Coquitlam Adanacs 10-5 over Burnaby Lakers; Pee Wee A2 – Cowichan Valley Thunder 7-5 over Port Moody Thunder; Pee Wee B – Alberni Valley Tyees beat the Juan de Fuca Whalers 6-2; and Pee Wee C – West Kootenay Wolfpack defeated Victoria-Esquimalt Eagles 6-2.

The Warrior Sports Canada Most Valuable Player award selections were: Pee Wee A1 – Cody Malawsky (Ridge Meadows); Pee Wee A2 – Dalton MacGillivray (Surrey); Pee Wee B – Nathaniel Leroux (Chilliwack); and Pee Wee C – Ryley Lockhurst (West Kootenay). The SUBWAY® Team Sportsmanship award went to the Pee Wee B Penticton Heat team and the BCLA Volunteer awards went to Dee Bowley and Stacey Okino. All Warrior Sports Canada Fair Play and All-Star Awards are listed on page 2 of this media release.

For complete tournament information and scores, please visit the BC Lacrosse Association website scroll at www.bclacrosse.com or contact Jeff Gombar at the BCLA at 604-421-9755 (Ext. 3).

## Warrior Sports Canada Fair Play Awards – Pee Wee Provincials

Pee Wee A1 Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Name	Team
Ryder Evers	Burnaby Lakers
Ty Banks	Coquitlam Adanacs
Ryan Watson	Kamloops Rattlers
Matt Boas	Nanaimo Timbermen
Ben Coghill	Ridge Meadows Burrards
Ryan Baker	Semiahmoo Rock

Pee Wee A1 Fair Play Coach: Brett Fleming (Nanaimo)

Pee Wee A2 Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Team	
Cowichan Valley Wild	
Kelowna Kodiaks	
North Shore Eagles	
Port Moody Thunder	
Prince George Posse	
Richmond Roadrunners	
Saanich Tigers	
Surrey Rebels	

Pee Wee A2 Fair Play Coach: Adam Gow (Saanich)

Pee Wee B Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Evan Matheson	Abbotsford Warriors
Brett Bilodeau	Alberni Valley Tyees
Jeremiah Gibbs	Chilliwack Mustangs
Jaiden Brown	Juan de Fuca Whalers
Cylis Charlton	Penticton Heat
Marcus Shiyoji	Richmond Roadrunners
Alex Smith	Ridge Meadows Burrards
Lina Yang	Surrey Rebels

Pee Wee B Fair Play Coach: Jason Light (Richmond)

Pee Wee C Warrior Fair Play Awards	
Name	Team
Austin Gill	Abbotsford Warriors
Dejan Krstic	Burnaby Lakers
Norman Rudolph	Comox Valley Wild
Shaan Bahi	Delta Islanders
Torin McFarlane	Victoria-Esquimalt Eagles
Dakota Fizzard	West Kootenay Wolfpack

Pee Wee C Fair Play Coach: Ken Laren (West Kootenay) Overall Fair Play Official: Jason Roberts (Richmond)

**BCLA Box Lacrosse Provincial All-Star Awards – Pee Wee Provincials** 

Pee Wee A1 All-Stars	
Name	Team
Phillip Marin	Burnaby Lakers
Ty Banks	Coquitlam Adanacs
Nate Van Unen	Kamloops Rattlers
Andrew Bowman	Nanaimo Timbermen
Cody Malawsky	Ridge Meadows Burrards
Ewen Rennie	Semiahmoo Rock

Pee Wee A2 All-Stars	
Name	Team
Walker Smith	Cowichan Valley Wild
Ryan DeGroot	Kelowna Kodiaks
Colton Eisner	North Shore Eagles
Elliot Howker	Port Moody Thunder
Brett Barwise	Prince George Posse
Keegan Okino	Richmond Roadrunners
Hayden Black	Saanich Tigers
Dalton MacGillivray	Surrey Rebels

Pee Wee B All-Stars	
Name	Team
Evan Matheson	Abbotsford Warriors
Robbi Steel	Alberni Valley Tyees
Josh Abel	Chilliwack Mustangs
Grayson Manning	Juan de Fuca Whalers
Connor Danby	Penticton Heat
Owen Morris	Richmond Roadrunners
Kevin McConachie	Ridge Meadows Burrards
Elijah Gill	Surrey Rebels

Pee Wee C All-Stars	
Name	Team
Jagit Cheema	Abbotsford Warriors
Grant Hill	Burnaby Lakers
Aodhan Hildebrandt	Comox Valley Wild
Colton Burbridge	Delta Islanders
Winzel Sumagpoa	Vic-Esquimalt Eagles
Ryley Lockhurst	West Kootenay Wolfpack